Karl Wolf's Amateur at Love Goes GOLD!!!
Rykka releases Bad Boy Remixes + Rocktographers Session
Radio, You Say...
Karl Wolf's Wherever You Go Music Video is Out Now!
Karl Wolf's New Single Wherever You Go is Available Everywhere Now!
Sam Weber Valentina Nevada - Behind the Record Series
Rykka Premieres New Runnin' Away Music Video on BreatheHeavy
David Gogo takes home Guitarist of the Year at Maple Blues Awards
Happy New Year from Cordova Bay Records!
Steph Macpherson Releases Live Video Series via Live in Limbo
Karl Wolf's Amateur at Love Remix ft. Kardinal Offishall is still Climbing!
Sam Weber is on the Road Again!
New album Beatitudes by Rykka is OUT NOW!
3 Maple Blues Awards Nominations for David Gogo!
WiL Releases Eclectic New EP SONGS
David Gogo & David Vest Nominated for Maple Blues Awards
Posted: 2015-10-29 00:00:00
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada

Representing a diverse cross-section of the immeasurable talents of Canadian blues musicians, The Toronto Blues Society will be celebrating the 19th annual Maple Blues Awards by honouring nationally and internationally recognized Canadian blues artists from across the country on January 18th, 2016. Cordova Bay Records' blues musicians David Gogo and David Vest have both received nominations this year. 

Blues guitar virtuoso David Gogo released his newest studio album Vicksburg Call on September 4th, 2015, and is currently touring it across Canada and in the Netherlands. Gogo won Guitarist of the Year in 2002 and 2004. This year, David Gogo is nominated for Entertainer of the Year, Electric Act of the Year, and Guitarist of the Year. 

David Vest has been nominated for Piano Player of the Year, a category he won in 2014 and 2012. 

Voting for this year's Maple Blues Awards goes live Wednesday, November 4 at 11:59pm Newfoundland Daylight Time (10:29pm EST). Blues fans across Canada can vote online for their favourite blues musicians in the eligible categories until December 4. Register at www.mapleblues.ca. 

Tickets for the Maple Blues Awards, held at the Royal Conservatory's Koerner Hall in Toronto, are on sale now for $40-$75 and can be purchased at The Western Family Box Office, located in The Royal Conservatory building at 273 Bloor Street West, Toronto, by phone at RCM box office (416) 408-0208 or online at https://tickets.rcmusic.ca/public. Contact The Toronto Blues Society for member discounts. 


The 19th Annual Maple Blues Award Nominees 

Entertainer of the Year
The 24th Street Wailers
David Gogo
Steve Hill
Harrison Kennedy 

Electric Act of the Year
The 24th Street Wailers 
Anthony Gomes 
David Gogo 
Steve Hill

Acoustic Act of the Year 
Big Dav McLean
Cecile Doo-Kingue 
Harrison Kennedy
Michael Jerome Browne 
Ross Neilsen

Male Vocalist of the Year 
Harrison Kennedy
John Mays 
John Knight (Soulstack)
Kirby Sewell 
Matt Anderson

Female Vocalist of the Year 
Angel Forrest 
Cecile Doo-Kingue
Cheryl Lescom
Samantha Martin
Shakura S'Aida

New Artist or Group of the Year
Cecil Doo-Kingue 
Jenie Thai
Kirby Swell Band
Samantha Martin & Delta Sugar 
Sugar Brown

B.B. King International Artist of the Year 
Buddy Guy
Elvin Bishop
Eric Bibb
Mavis Staples 
Sugaray Rayford 

Recording/Producer of the Year 
Big Dave McLean Faded But Not Gone (Black Hen); Producer: Steve Dawson
Colin Linden Rich In Love (Stony Plain); Producers: Colin Linden, John Dymond & Gary Craig
Harrison Kennedy This is From Here (Electro-Fi); Producers: Harrison Kennedy & Jesse O'Brien
John Campbelljohn Chin Up (Nood); Producer: John Campbelljohn
Samantha Martin & Delta Sugar Send The Nightingale (Rench); Producer: Rench

Guitarist of the Year
Brandon Isaak
David Gogo 
John Campbelljohn
Michael Jerome Browne 
Steve Hill

Harmonica Player of the Year 
Guy Belanger 
Harpdog Brown
Jerome Dogboo
Roly Platt
Steve Marriner (MonkyJunk) 

Piano or Keyboard Player of the Year 
David Vest
Duane Blackburn (Blackburn)
Jesse O'Brien (Harrison Kennedy)
Kenny "Blues Boss" Wayne
Mark Wessenger (Soulstack)

Horn Player of the Year
Al Lerman (Fathead)
Chris Whiteley
Frank Thiffault (Ben Racine Band)
Jon Wong (The 24th Street Wailers)
Richard Thornton (Jack de Keyzer)

Drummer of the Year 
Chris Nordquist (Cannery Row) 
Dave King (Steve Strongman) 
Lindsay Beaver (The 24th Street Wailers)
Matt Sobb (MonkeyJunk) 
Tom Bona (Soulstack, Raoul & the Big Time)

Bassist of the Year 
Alan Duffy (Jack de Keyzer)
Alec Fraser (Rick Fines)
Keither Picot (Twisters)
Leigh-Anne Stanton (Wicked Grin)
Owen Owen Owen (Dalannah & Owen) 

Songwriter of the Year 
Big Dave McLean
Colin Linden
Harrison Kennedy
John Campbelljohn
Samantha Martin

Blues With A Feeling (Lifetime Achievement)
Diana Braithwaite
Alec Fraser 
Danny Brooks
Ellen Mcllwaine
Joe Murphy
Ken Whiteley
Michael Fonfara
Stephen Barry
Tom Lavin
Michael Jerome Brown
Brent Parkin
Theresa Malenfant